Allied Masonic Degrees

Journey through five degrees

Expand your masonic knowledge and learning with the Order of Allied Masonic Degrees

Allied Masonic Degrees

The Order has five Degrees; the Degree of St Lawrence the Martyr; the Degree of the Knights of Constantinople; the Degree of Grand Tilers of Solomon; The Red Cross of Babylon and The Holy Order of the Grand High Priest. Every Candidate must be a Mark Master Mason and a Companion of The Holy Royal Arch.

Am I eligible?

To be accepted into the Order of Allied Masonic Degrees, you must be a Royal Arch Chapter and Mark Master Mason.

Degrees of AMD

This degree must be taken first and is based around the biblical depiction of the suffering and fortitude of St Lawrence and is the degree to which all candidates are admitted and all business of the Councils is conducted.

The remaining four degrees may be taken over any timescale in any order and in any council.

This relates to Constantine and is what was referred to as a “side degree” which would be conferred by a brother following a Craft Lodge meeting with a simple obligation and entrustment. Its origins are thought to lie in that period of transition from Operative to Speculative Masonry.

This has similarities to the Cryptic Degree of Select Master and has been worked in the USA since1761. This degree inculcates the dangers of carelessness and haste and reinforces the importance of careful Tiling.

A degree of great antiquity much being condensed from degrees worked in the 18th Century.

This has been worked extensively throughout Lancashire and Yorkshire and it is strongly associated with Royal Arch Masonry.

Get in touch

Within the District of Durham & Northumberland there are a total of 10 councils.

Get in touch with the District Grand Secretary

District Grand Prefect
RW Bro Danny Guy

Allied Masonic Degree Councils